Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Overview       

MOC requirements were developed by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and implemented by all ABMS member boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP). MOC program requires completion of four components to obtain and maintain certification with your certifying board.     
  Part 1: Maintain your state license.
  Visit the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) to learn more about your state’s    licensure requirements.                    
 Part 2: Assess your knowledge.
 Through self-assessment programs developed by member Boards, medical societies, and  others, physicians self-assess their clinical and practical knowledge.
 Part 3: Sit for exams.                       
 Physicians are required to pass a closed-book, proctored examination in their specialty  area.

 Part 4: Assess your performance. 
 Physicians use tools to self-assess their performance in medical practice, such as  Practice Improvement Modules (PIMs).

Certified by the ABIM? Requirements changed in January 2014 and ABIM announced further changes in February 2015 and in December 2015. To learn more about how these changes affect you, visit the ABIM's FAQs and listen to the "ABIM MOC Update" session at ENDO 2015 to learn about the changes from ES Past President William Young, MD, MMsc, Chair of the ABIM's Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism Specialty Board. At ENDO 2016, join your colleagues at the ABIM MOC Update session and earn MOC throughout the meeting 

The Society continues to advocate on your behalf; learn more about how the Society is affecting change.